Archive for September, 2012
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Japan business mood worsens on global slowdown – BOJ tankan

by on September 30, 2012 11:56 pm BST
TOKYO | Sun Sep 30, 2012 7:56pm EDT TOKYO Oct 1 (Reuters) - Big Japanese manufacturers' sentiment worsened in the third quarter from the previous quarter, a closely watched Bank of Japan survey showed, hurt by a steady deterioration in export demand as Europe's debt crisis simmers and China's economy slows. The headline index

Singapore Grabs for the Gold

by on September 30, 2012 7:38 pm BST
By CLEMENTINE WALLOP Singapore has emerged as one of the world’s hubs for private banking for the wealthy, and now it is making a play to become the Fort Knox of Asia. Starting Monday, the Southeast Asian city-state is scrapping a 7% tax on gold and silver in an effort to turn the city into […]

GLOBAL ECONOMY-A new quarter’s dark clouds and silver linings

by on September 30, 2012 7:00 pm BST
Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:00pm EDT * Data to show brisk headwinds but some signs of hope * Fiscal cliff fears may show up in business surveys* Main central banks likely to stay on hold this weekBy Alan Wheatley, Global Economics CorrespondentLONDON, Sept 30 (Reuters) - The darkest hour is just before dawn, the

Argentina president’s image slides further as CPI, crime weigh

by on September 30, 2012 5:29 pm BST
Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:29pm EDT * Fernandez' popularity at 24.3 pct in Sept -consulting firm * High inflation, worries over crime hit leader* Growth slowing on CPI, Brazil, drought, global woesBUENOS AIRES, Sept 30 (Reuters) - Argentina President Cristina Fernandez's popularity continued its downward slide in September, sinking to 24.3 percent from 30 percent in August