Archive for August, 2012
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Bernanke raps BIS call for global cooperation by central banks

by on August 31, 2012 10:31 pm BST
By Alister Bull JACKSON HOLE, Wyo. | Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:31pm EDT JACKSON HOLE, Wyo. Aug 31 (Reuters) - The world's big central banks ought to cooperate more by taking into account the global impact of their individual policy decisions, a top policymaker said on Friday, but he was immediately challenged by Federal

UPDATE 3-China won’t challenge WTO ruling in U.S. bank card row

by on August 31, 2012 10:17 pm BST
Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:17pm EDT * China downplays significance of July WTO ruling * US estimates decision could create 6,000 U.S. jobsBy Tom Miles and Doug PalmerGENEVA/WASHINGTON, Aug 31 (Reuters) - The United States welcomed China's decision on Friday not to appeal a trade panel ruling that Beijing discriminated against U.S

Slight dip in US gas output for June

by on August 31, 2012 10:08 pm BST
Lower 48 "wet" gas output in June totaled 72.37 billion cubic feet per day, down from revised May output of 72.55 Bcf daily, the EIA said in its monthly Natural Gas Gross Production Report.Lower 48 refers to gas production in the US, excluding Alaska and Hawaii.The EIA's previous estimate for May was 72.39

Shell ‘close’ to securing air permit for Alaska

by on August 31, 2012 9:50 pm BST
The Environmental Protection Agency plans to issue an air permit for Shell's Discoverer drilling rig as soon as this weekend, a source at the bureau told Reuters on Friday.A compliance order the EPA will issue expires in a year and will not waive any of Shell's permit requirements or