Archive for July, 2012
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

FOREX-Euro hunkers down before Fed decision

by on July 31, 2012 11:25 pm BST
Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:25pm EDT * Currency markets subdued as event risks loom * Fed decision on Wednesday, ECB on Thursday in focus* China PMI to feature during Asian sessionBy Ian ChuaSYDNEY, Aug 1 (Reuters) - The G3 currencies were expected to mark time in Asia on Wednesday, following another listless offshore session

Oil States beats street in Q2

by on July 31, 2012 10:57 pm BST
Oil States chief executive Cindy Taylor said increased sales of deepwater capital equipment, and the increase in US drilling and completion activity, both onshore and offshore, helped the company during the quarter, Reuters reported.Net income rose to $111.2 million, or $2.01 per share, from $74.2 million, or $1.34 per

Writedowns hit Pioneer in Q2

by on July 31, 2012 10:33 pm BST
The US independent, active in US onshore basins, posted a net loss of $70.4 million for the three months ending in June, compared with a $245 million profit in the year-ago period.But the company had an upbeat outlook for the upcoming quarter, saying it expected output to average 155,000

UPDATE 1-Quebec premier set to call election for Sept 4 -CBC

by on July 31, 2012 9:19 pm BST
Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:19pm EDT * Quebec elections always get into issue of separation * Provincial election expected for Sept. 4* Pollsters say difficult for separatists to win majorityJuly 31 (Reuters) - Quebec Premier Jean Charest intends to call a provincial election on Wednesday, with voters going to the polls on Sept. 4, the