Posts Tagged ‘police’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

UPDATE 1-Two blasts in Kenyan capital, policeman wounded

by on October 12, 2012 6:56 pm BST
Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:56pm EDT NAIROBI Oct 12 (Reuters) - Two successive blasts in a residential area near the Kenyan capital's central business district wounded one police officer late on Friday but did not injure any civilians, police said.A string of sometimes deadly attacks in Nairobi and the port city of Mombasa

UPDATE 3-Iranian police clash with protesters over currency plunge

by on October 3, 2012 3:45 pm BST
Wed Oct 3, 2012 11:45am EDT * Police clash with protesters over rial's fall * Currency plunge linked to Western sanctions* Money changers arrested* Panicked Iranians scramble for dollarsBy Yeganeh Torbati and Marcus GeorgeDUBAI, Oct 3 (Reuters) - Riot police clashed with demonstrators and arrested money changers in Tehran on Wednesday in disturbances over

Embassy protests spread to Sudan

by on September 14, 2012 12:36 pm BST
Police have reportedly had to fire tear gas to disperse protesters who set upon the embassies days after a violent mob killed the US ambassador to Libya.Tuesday’s assault in Benghazi left Christopher Stevens and three other US citizens dead and triggered a plethora of similar incidents across the Muslim

Canada warns operators of cyber threat

by on August 28, 2012 8:30 pm BST
The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, public safety department and Communications Security Establishment Canada all investigated threats against the industry between the start of 2011 and mid-March, according to documents obtained this month by Bloomberg News under freedom of information laws. The RCMP conducted a threat assessment after the hacker group