Posts Tagged ‘osborne’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

UPDATE 2-UK grabs BoE cash for short-term boost

by on November 9, 2012 2:18 pm BST
Fri Nov 9, 2012 9:18am EST * BoE to return 35 bln stg of gilt coupons to government * Move may help govt meet debt reduction target - economists* Budget watchdog sees short-term savings, long-term costs* BoE says move equivalent to 35 bln stg of QE purchasesBy David Milliken and Sven EgenterLONDON, Nov

CORRECTED-CANADA FX DEBT-C$ slightly weaker ahead of jobs reports

by on November 2, 2012 12:06 pm BST
Fri Nov 2, 2012 8:06am EDT (Fixes first paragraph to show C$ weaker, not firmer) * C$ at C$0.9980 to US$, or $1.0020 * U.S. and Canadian jobs data eyed By Alastair Sharp TORONTO, Nov 2 (Reuters) - The Canadian dollar was slightly weaker against its U.S. counterpart on Friday ahead of

CANADA FX DEBT-C$ eyes global trends after Bank of Canada

by on October 25, 2012 12:28 pm BST
Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:28am EDT * C$ at C$0.9916 versus US$, or $1.0085 * Positive signs from China, UK help lift sentiment * Investors still scratching heads about Bank of Canada By Alastair Sharp TORONTO, Oct 25 (Reuters) - The Canadian dollar strengthened against its U.S. counterpart on Thursday, tracking commodity and

UK finance minister says economy on right track

by on October 25, 2012 8:44 am BST
LONDON | Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:44am EDT LONDON Oct 25 (Reuters) - Britain's finance minister George Osborne said on Thursday the latest gross domestic product figures showed that the economy was on the right track but there were still challenges lying ahead due to weak data coming from the euro zone. "There is