Posts Tagged ‘office’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

UPDATE 2-UK grabs BoE cash for short-term boost

by on November 9, 2012 2:18 pm BST
Fri Nov 9, 2012 9:18am EST * BoE to return 35 bln stg of gilt coupons to government * Move may help govt meet debt reduction target - economists* Budget watchdog sees short-term savings, long-term costs* BoE says move equivalent to 35 bln stg of QE purchasesBy David Milliken and Sven EgenterLONDON, Nov

UPDATE 1-UK adds stimulus through change to BoE QE payments

by on November 9, 2012 12:41 pm BST
Fri Nov 9, 2012 7:41am EST By David Milliken and Sven EgenterLONDON Nov 9 (Reuters) - Britain's finance ministry said on Friday it would use revenue from the Bank of England's bond-buying programme to reduce short-term debt issuance, a move the BoE said equated to a small loosening in monetary policy.Until

UPDATE 1-Olympics helps Britain leap out of recession

by on October 25, 2012 9:12 am BST
Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:12am EDT By Peter Griffiths and Olesya DmitracovaLONDON Oct 25 (Reuters) - Britain rebounded strongly from recession in the third quarter, posting its strongest quarterly GDP growth in five years, boosted at least in part by robust Olympics spending, official data showed on Thursday.The jump in growth was subject

UPDATE 1-British economy is healing – finance minister

by on October 25, 2012 9:03 am BST
Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:03am EDT LONDON Oct 25 (Reuters) - Britain's finance minister George Osborne said on Thursday the latest GDP data showed the economy was on the mend but there were still challenges ahead due to weak data coming from the euro zone.Figures released on Thursday showed Britain pulled out of