Posts Tagged ‘mining’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

FEATURE-Gold fever sweeps South Sudan ahead of new mining law

by on November 9, 2012 10:17 am GMT
By Hereward Holland NANAKANAK, South Sudan | Fri Nov 9, 2012 5:17am EST NANAKANAK, South Sudan Nov 9 (Reuters) - Taking a break from the toil of digging, Leer Likuam sat on the edge of a shallow trench, puffed his pipe and boasted he once found a 200-gram gold nugget bigger th a n

Guinea aims to open offshore blocks

by on October 31, 2012 5:05 pm GMT
West Africa is a mature oil province, but the discovery of oil off Ghana, which began pumping crude in 2010, has helped spur interest elsewhere in the region, Reuters reported."We are developing the new petroleum code now and plan to have it in place by June 2013," Guillaume Curtis told

UPDATE 1-BlackRock says China, U.S to power commodities markets

by on October 30, 2012 1:06 am GMT
Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:06pm EDT * BlackRock says China, U.S. support commodities growth * Downplays impact of Euro-crisis on demand* Overweight in iron ore equitiesBy James ReganSYDNEY, Oct 30 (Reuters) - BlackRock Inc, the world's largest money manager, downplayed the impact of Europe's financial woes on commodities markets on Tuesday, and

Triple looks to gain Chinese CBM stake

by on October 5, 2012 8:48 am GMT
Triple said it would acquire 100% of CFT Heilongjiang which in turn holds an 80% share in the CBM project via a cooperative joint venture with Chinese coal miner Longmay Coal Mining, In exchange, Triple will issue CFT 380 million shares, of which 350 million performance shares will vest in accordance with