Posts Tagged ‘mantega’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

EMERGING MARKETS-Brazil real seesaws in Mantega, Tombini tug of war

by Forex Rooton November 23, 2012 4:05 pm GMT
Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:05am EST * Real weakens to 2.11/dlr as Mantega says FX rate 'reasonable' * Central bank calls swap auction, props real back to 2.09/dlr* Markets wonder whether new informal band ceiling at 2.12By Walter Brandimarte and Natalia CacioliRIO DE JANEIRO, Nov 23 (Reuters) - The Brazilian real temporarily weakened past

Brazil trade minister says gov’t wants real at 2 per dollar

by on October 31, 2012 3:21 pm GMT
BRASILIA | Wed Oct 31, 2012 11:21am EDT BRASILIA Oct 31 (Reuters) - The Brazilian government is focused on keeping the country's foreign exchange rate at the current level of 2 reais per U.S. dollar, Development, Industry and Trade Minister Fernando Pimentel said on Wednesday. Brazil's government has intervened several times in foreign exchange

Brazil’s Mantega admits ‘dirty float’ of currency -paper

by on October 24, 2012 11:28 am GMT
Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:28am EDT * Currency management helping protect local industry-Mantega * Inflation targeting, fiscal discipline still key* Says does not see risk of inflation breaking target ceilingSAO PAULO, Oct 24 (Reuters) - Brazil's Finance Minister Guido Mantega said in an interview published Wednesday that while inflation targeting and a solid

UPDATE 1-Brazil finance minister vows to keep currency competitive

by on September 14, 2012 3:43 pm GMT
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:43am EDT * Finance minister says some Asian currencies kept too weak * Latest data shows Brazil's economy rebounding in second halfSAO PAULO, Sept 14 (Reuters) - Brazil will continue to take steps to avoid excessive appreciation in the country's real currency following the latest monetary stimulus by the U