Posts Tagged ‘lending’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Negative Deposit Rates Not Guaranteed to Make Banks Lend Says Caruana

by Christopher Lemieuxon June 3, 2014 7:06 pm BST
As the European Central Bank (ECB) meeting looms on June 5, one of the primary tools the central bank are likely to implement is negative deposit rates, which currently stand at zero. This is aimed to help those seeking credited and loosen the extreme credit tightening seen in the eurozone. Effectively, banks would be charged a […]

FOREX-Euro falls versus U.S. dollar on Greece; U.S. election eyed

by on November 5, 2012 5:18 pm BST
Mon Nov 5, 2012 12:18pm EST * Euro falls below 200-day moving average, more losses likely* Concerns before Greek austerity vote dent sentiment* U.S. election uncertainty underpins dollarBy Wanfeng ZhouNEW YORK, Nov 5 (Reuters) - The euro fell to a near two-month low against the U.S. dollar on Monday on uncertainty

MONEY MARKETS-UK money markets pricing out further easing

by on October 26, 2012 11:43 am BST
By Kirsten Donovan LONDON | Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:43am EDT LONDON Oct 26 (Reuters) - British money markets have further pared back expectations of Bank of England rate cuts after data this week showed a surprisingly large rebound in the UK economy. Olympic spending fuelled Britain's strongest quarterly growth in five years with

UPDATE 1-Bank of England leaves policy on hold as economy steadies

by on September 6, 2012 11:28 am BST
Thu Sep 6, 2012 7:28am EDT * BoE sticks to plan to buy 50 bln stg of gilts * Most economists see further action in November* Government launches measures to boost constructionBy Sven Egenter and David MillikenLONDON, Sept 6 (Reuters) - The Bank of England stuck to its current policy of government bond purchases on