Posts Tagged ‘korea’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Korean Won Trades Up on Chinese Data

by Christopher Lemieuxon December 10, 2013 2:24 pm BST
The Korean won receives a boost from data out of China and pushes the currency to a two year high. China is South Korea’s biggest trading partner, and Chinese exports jumped 12.7 percent beating forecasts.  South Korean government debt prices fell. According to the Finance Minister Hyun Oh Seok, the moves in the won will be […]

GLOBAL MARKETS-Asia shares set for best week in 2 months as outlook improves

by Forex Rooton November 23, 2012 6:15 am BST
Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:15am EST * MSCI Asia ex-Japan up 0.7 pct, set for weekly gain of 2.6 pct * European shares seen opening flat-to-higher, U.S. futures up 0.3 pct* Euro steady around $1.2886, up 1.2 pct on week and near 3-week high* Brent crude eases but holds above $110, up

NEWSMAKER-UPDATE1-Ex-Japan PM in line for old job; will pragmatism top nationalism?

by on November 15, 2012 8:21 am BST
Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:21am EST By Linda Sieg and Leika KiharaTOKYO Nov 15 (Reuters) - Five years after ending a brief tenure marked by nationalist rhetoric tempered with pragmatic diplomacy, scandals in his cabinet and a devastating election loss, former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe is poised for another shot at Japan's top job

RPT-NEWSMAKER-Critics ask if Japan ex-PM learnt from mistakes as eyes top job again

by on November 15, 2012 7:02 am BST
Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:02am EST By Linda Sieg and Leika KiharaTOKYO Nov 15 (Reuters) - Five years after ending a brief tenure marked by nationalist rhetoric tempered with pragmatic diplomacy, scandals in his cabinet and a devastating election loss, former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe is poised for another shot at Japan's top job