Posts Tagged ‘governor’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

UPDATE 3-BOJ defies easing calls, strikes back against independence risk

by on November 20, 2012 9:59 am BST
Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:59am EST * BOJ keeps monetary policy steady, as widely expected * Dismisses calls for higher price target, negative rates * BOJ governor defends central bank independence * Markets betting on Dec easing, BOJ weighing options By Leika Kihara and Stanley White TOKYO, Nov 20 (Reuters) - The Bank of

FOREX-Yen hits 7-mth low on likely next govt’s calls for easing

by on November 19, 2012 4:24 am BST
Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:24pm EST * Yen hits lowest level since dollar since late April * Some say yen looks oversold, may stabilise near-term* But yen seen staying weak in the medium termBy Masayuki Kitano and Ian ChuaSINGAPORE/SYDNEY, Nov 19 (Reuters) - The yen hit a seven-month low against the

FEATURE-They’re buying what? US investors latch onto Iraqi dinar

by on November 15, 2012 9:35 pm BST
By Gertrude Chavez-Dreyfuss NEW YORK | Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:35pm EST NEW YORK Nov 15 (Reuters) - The U.S. stock market almost wiped out his retirement account, but retired pilot Ronald Scarpa hasn't lost his taste for risk. Lately he has turned to one of the chanciest investments in the world

NEWSMAKER-UPDATE1-Ex-Japan PM in line for old job; will pragmatism top nationalism?

by on November 15, 2012 8:21 am BST
Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:21am EST By Linda Sieg and Leika KiharaTOKYO Nov 15 (Reuters) - Five years after ending a brief tenure marked by nationalist rhetoric tempered with pragmatic diplomacy, scandals in his cabinet and a devastating election loss, former Prime Minister Shinzo Abe is poised for another shot at Japan's top job