Posts Tagged ‘george’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

UK’s Osborne set to play safe, opt for Tucker at BoE

by on November 19, 2012 10:52 am BST
Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:52am EST * Osborne expected to announce next governor on Dec. 5 * Deputy governor Tucker most likely to succeed King - poll* Tucker represents continuity, not big change, at BoE* Personal chemistry key - former finance minister LamontBy David MillikenLONDON, Nov 19 (Reuters) - British finance minister George Osborne is expected to

FOREX-Yen slides after call for sub-zero lending rates

by Forex Rooton November 15, 2012 1:00 pm BST
Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:00am EST * Next potential leader of Japan calls for weaker yen* Euro inches up vs dollar, helped by yen selling* Australian dollar hits 2-wk low versus U.S. dollarBy Philip BaillieLONDON, Nov 15 (Reuters) - The yen hit its lowest level against the dollar since late April on Thursday

WRAPUP 1-Britain stuck with high inflation, meagre growth

by on November 14, 2012 2:37 pm BST
Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:37am EST * Bank of England leaves door open for more bond buys * Governor King sees limits to what BoE can achieve* Rise in jobless benefit claims adds to bad news on economy* King sees independence intact despite government paymentsBy David Milliken and Olesya DmitracovaLONDON, Nov 14 (Reuters)

BoE’s King faces questions about independence and stimulus

by on November 12, 2012 4:31 pm BST
Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:31am EST * King holds quarterly news conference to present forecasts * Economists see little change in forecasts, focus on stimulus* Independence in spotlight after Treasury move on QE giltsBy Sven EgenterLONDON, Nov 12 (Reuters) - Bank of England Governor Mervyn King will have a new set of questions to