Posts Tagged ‘geithner’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Four Republican senators raise concerns over Cnooc-Nexen deal

by on September 14, 2012 2:13 pm BST
Four Republican senators raise concerns over Cnooc-Nexen dealWASHINGTON D.C. -- A group of four Republican senators have sent a letter to Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner expressing concern about Chinese energy giant Cnooc's $15.1 billion deal to buy Nexen, adding their voice to critics of the transaction.John Cornyn, John

CNOOC asks for US security review of Nexen takeover

by on September 6, 2012 1:54 am BST
About 10% of the Canadian oil producer's assets are in the US. The CNOOC spokesman reiterated that the deal would not threaten US security.Reuters said CNOOC had declined to comment on the precise date when the company filed its paperwork with the Committee on Foreign Investment in the United

REFILE-UPDATE 1-Obama warns of economic ‘headwinds,’ sees euro surviving

by on July 31, 2012 3:47 am BST
Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:47pm EDT NEW YORK, July 30 (Reuters) - President Barack Obama warned on Monday the U.S. economy would face continuing "headwinds" over the next few months, with Europe's debt crisis still posing a challenge, but predicted the euro zone and its currency would remain intact."I don't think ultimately

UPDATE 1-Obama warns of economic ‘headwinds,’ sees euro surviving

by on July 31, 2012 12:36 am BST
Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:36pm EDT NEW YORK, July 30 (Reuters) - President Barack Obama warned on Monday the U.S. economy would face continuing "headwinds" over the next few months, with Europe's debt crisis still posing a challenge, but predicted the euro zone and its currency would remain intact."I don't think ultimately