Posts Tagged ‘flaherty’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Flaherty says Canada needs foreign investment

by Forex Rooton November 23, 2012 3:05 am GMT
"We know we don't have enough capital in this country to develop our resources that we want to develop over the next generation, so we have to have some accommodation with respect to foreign direct investment," Reuters quoted Flaherty as saying to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).He added

UPDATE 1-Canada PM says still plans to balance books by 2015 vote

by on November 16, 2012 6:42 pm GMT
Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:42pm EST * Harper says budget will be balanced without tax hike * Fiscal update pushed deficit elimination back to 2016-17* Conservative platform had promised balance by 2014-15OTTAWA, Nov 16 (Reuters) - Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper said on Friday he still plans to balance the government's books by the

Canadian growth on track despite August GDP weakness – Flaherty

by on October 31, 2012 1:40 pm GMT
OTTAWA | Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:40am EDT OTTAWA Oct 31 (Reuters) - Canada's economic growth remains on track for the year despite unexpectedly weak gross domestic product data for August, Finance Minister Jim Flaherty said on Wednesday. "We're going to see some variations, but overall, for the year we are on track with

Canada says tougher rules not yet felt fully in housing market

by on October 29, 2012 9:26 pm GMT
OTTAWA | Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:26pm EDT OTTAWA Oct 29 (Reuters) - Canadian Finance Minister Jim Flaherty said on Monday that it is too early to assess the impact on the heated housing market or tighter mortgage rules introduced earlier this year, even though there have been some signs of cooling. "The full