Posts Tagged ‘embassy’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

WRAPUP 8-Stand-off over Chinese dissident poses quandary for Obama

by Forex Rooton May 3, 2012 5:46 pm BST
Thu May 3, 2012 1:46pm EDT * Dissident says wants to take family to U.S. * Chen says fears for his safety if remains in China* U.S. officials continue talks with Beijing on Chen's fate* China demands U.S. apologyBy Chris Buckley and Paul EckertBEIJING/WASHINGTON, May 3 (Reuters) - Blind Chinese

WRAPUP 6-Chinese dissident seeks exile, strains US-China ties

by Forex Rooton May 3, 2012 7:46 am BST
Thu May 3, 2012 3:46am EDT * Dissident says wants to take family to U.S.* Chen says fears for his safety if remains in China* U.S. officials continue talks with Beijing on Chen's fate* China demands U.S. apologyBy Chris Buckley and Andrew QuinnBEIJING, May 3 (Reuters) - Blind Chinese dissident

REFILE-WRAPUP 14-China-US deal over dissident sours, Chen fears for life

by Forex Rooton May 2, 2012 11:17 pm BST
Wed May 2, 2012 7:17pm EDT * China and U.S. say Chen left embassy of his own accord* Dissident said to have second thoughts after talking to wife* Chen appeals to Obama to help family leave China* China demands an apology for U.S. 'meddling'By Andrew Quinn and Chris BuckleyBEIJING, May

WRAPUP 12-China dissident afraid, now wants to leave country-reports

by Forex Rooton May 2, 2012 7:45 pm BST
Wed May 2, 2012 3:45pm EDT * China and U.S. say Chen left embassy of his own accord * Dissident said to have second thoughts after talking to wife* 'He wants to leave as soon as possible" -CNN reports* China demands an apology for U.S. 'meddling'By Andrew Quinn and Chris