Posts Tagged ‘economist’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

GLOBAL MARKETS-Shares fall on concerns for outlook, earnings

by on October 8, 2012 6:19 am GMT
Mon Oct 8, 2012 2:19am EDT * MSCI Asia ex-Japan index down 0.9 pct * Euro Stoxx 50 index futures down 0.8 pct, FTSE 100 seen off 0.5 pct* Brent crude falls to $111.30 a barrel* Euro falls 0.4 pct to $1.2985, dollar index up 0.3 pctBy Alex RichardsonSINGAPORE, Oct 8 (Reuters) - Asian stocks and other riskier assets such

UPDATE 1-ADB cuts Asia growth estimates, still sees China soft landing

by on October 3, 2012 4:09 am GMT
Wed Oct 3, 2012 12:09am EDT * Cuts 2012 developing Asia GDP f'cast to 6.1 pct vs 6.9 pct * Sees China growing 7.7 pct in 2012 vs pvs 8.5 pct estimate* Sees India's 2012 growth at 5.6 pct vs pvs 7.0 pct f'castBy Rosemarie FranciscoMANILA, Oct 3 (Reuters) - The Asian Development Bank cut most of its 2012 and 2013 growth estimates for developing

UPDATE 4-G20 deputies say central bank fix not enough for ailing economy

by on September 24, 2012 10:12 pm GMT
Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:12pm EDT * G20 deputies eye global economy with concern * Delegates say "currency wars" not big issue* Urge governments to do more to support growthBy Krista Hughes and Louise EganMEXICO CITY, Sept 24 (Reuters) - Central bank stimulus is not enough to fix the ailing global economy and governments

CEE MONEY-QE option on table as Czech rates near zero

by on August 24, 2012 1:06 pm GMT
Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:06am EDT * Interest rates at record lows, further cuts expected * Central bank may soon opt for unconventional policy tools* Options include FX intervention, less liquidity drainingBy Jana MlcochovaPRAGUE, Aug 24 (Reuters) - Fortified by its reputation as an inflation tamer, the Czech central bank may prove better placed