Posts Tagged ‘chancellor’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

TNK-BP ‘seeks new gagging order’

by on October 23, 2012 2:07 pm GMT
The gagging order, lifted by a British judge last week but still in place while the company seeks permission to appeal, is part of a dispute dating back to March this year between Russia's third largest oil company and Igor Lazurenko.Lazurenko, who resigned as TNK-BP's head of new

Merkel pledges Bundesbank chief support-sources

by on September 5, 2012 7:44 pm GMT
BERLIN, Sept 5 | Wed Sep 5, 2012 3:44pm EDT BERLIN, Sept 5 (Reuters) - German Chancellor Angela Merkel has pledged her support for Bundesbank chief Jens Weidmann in the debate over the role of the European Central Bank (ECB), sources at a meeting of Merkel and leading German conservatives said on Wednesday. Weidmann opposes

FOREX-Euro holds onto most gains on hopes for ECB action, Aussie slides

by on August 17, 2012 5:34 am GMT
By Antoni Slodkowski TOKYO | Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:34am EDT TOKYO Aug 17 (Reuters) - The euro on Friday held onto most of its gains from the previous session, bolstered by expectations for impending action to stem Europe's more than two-year old debt crisis. German Chancellor Angela Merkel on Thursday appeared to

German fin min warns of contagion before Spanish aid vote

by on July 19, 2012 1:02 pm GMT
BERLIN, July 19 | Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:02am EDT BERLIN, July 19 (Reuters) - German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble warned on Thursday ahead of a parliamentary vote on aid for Spanish banks that even just a perceived insolvency risk in Spain could cause contagion in the euro zone, as could the weakness of some