Posts Tagged ‘angela’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

French finmin says euro zone move towards debt mutualisation

by on October 30, 2012 9:15 am GMT
BERLIN | Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:15am EDT BERLIN Oct 30 (Reuters) - French Finance Minister Pierre Moscovici said in Berlin on Tuesday the euro zone should take the first steps towards some kind of mutualisation of its debt, though he recognised that Angela Merkel's government rejected jointly-issued "Eurobonds". "We are not talking

Merkel pledges Bundesbank chief support-sources

by on September 5, 2012 7:44 pm GMT
BERLIN, Sept 5 | Wed Sep 5, 2012 3:44pm EDT BERLIN, Sept 5 (Reuters) - German Chancellor Angela Merkel has pledged her support for Bundesbank chief Jens Weidmann in the debate over the role of the European Central Bank (ECB), sources at a meeting of Merkel and leading German conservatives said on Wednesday. Weidmann opposes

Euro rises to 6-week high versus yen

by on August 17, 2012 6:58 am GMT
LONDON | Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:58am EDT LONDON Aug 17 (Reuters) - The euro rose to a six week high against the safe haven yen on Friday, buoyed by growing expectations of decisive action by the European Central Bank to lower borrowing costs for Spain and Italy. Those expectations got a lift after

Euro falls, Bunds reverse losses, traders cite Merkel report

by on July 18, 2012 9:34 am GMT
Wed Jul 18, 2012 5:34am EDT LONDON, July 18 (Reuerts) - The euro fell to a session low against the dollar and German Bund futures reversed earlier losses on Thursday with traders citing a media report that quoted German Chancellor Angela Merkel as saying she could not be sure the European project would work