Posts Tagged ‘angela-merkel’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

Merkel says Germany, Britain must work together on EU

by on November 7, 2012 8:25 pm GMT
LONDON | Wed Nov 7, 2012 3:25pm EST LONDON Nov 7 (Reuters) - Germany and Britain must cooperate to work round their differences on the European Union's long-term spending plans, German Chancellor Angela Merkel said on Wednesday. "Despite differences that we have it is very important for me that the UK and Germany

Merkel pledges Bundesbank chief support-sources

by on September 5, 2012 7:44 pm GMT
BERLIN, Sept 5 | Wed Sep 5, 2012 3:44pm EDT BERLIN, Sept 5 (Reuters) - German Chancellor Angela Merkel has pledged her support for Bundesbank chief Jens Weidmann in the debate over the role of the European Central Bank (ECB), sources at a meeting of Merkel and leading German conservatives said on Wednesday. Weidmann opposes

Top Merkel MP says Greek deal can’t be renegotiated

by on August 24, 2012 6:36 am GMT
BERLIN | Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:36am EDT BERLIN Aug 24 (Reuters) - The parliamentary leader of Angela Merkel's ruling conservatives said on Friday, hours ahead of the chancellor's meeting with Greek Prime Minister Antonis Samaras, that neither the time nor the content of Greece's rescue package can be renegotiated. Striking a tough tone

GLOBAL MARKETS-German backing for ECB action lifts stocks, euro

by on August 17, 2012 7:28 am GMT
Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:28am EDT * Global, European shares boosted by German ECB support * Euro hovers higher vs dollar, 6-week high vs yen * Demand for safe haven German bonds subsides LONDON, Aug 17 (Reuters) - Global shares hit multi-month highs on Friday, with top European stocks and the euro both