Posts Tagged ‘ahmadinejad’
-
LATEST ARTICLES
 

CORRECTED-UPDATE 1-Iran parliament votes to consider halting subsidy reform plan

by on October 7, 2012 10:47 am BST
Sun Oct 7, 2012 6:47am EDT (Corrects to say parliament to consider halting reform, not halted it) DUBAI Oct 7 (Reuters) - Iran's parliament voted on Sunday to consider suspending plans for further reform of the country's food and fuel subsidies, with legislators citing economic pain caused by the plunge of the rial currency

UPDATE 3-Iran blames economic "conspiracy" as criticism grows

by on October 5, 2012 5:27 pm BST
Fri Oct 5, 2012 1:27pm EDT * Iran will defeat "conspiracy" against the rial, aide says * Currency has collapsed over the last ten days* Friday sermons blame government for mismanagement* Iranian fear further price rises in coming weeksBy Marcus GeorgeDUBAI, Oct 5 (Reuters) - Iran will defeat a "conspiracy" against its foreign currency

Iran will overcome currency "conspiracy", Khamenei ally says

by on October 5, 2012 9:39 am BST
DUBAI | Fri Oct 5, 2012 5:39am EDT DUBAI Oct 5 (Reuters) - Iran will defeat an enemy "conspiracy" against its foreign currency and gold markets, an adviser to Iran's supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei said on Friday, following violent protests that forced the closure of Tehran's grand bazaar. Riot police fought demonstrators and

Shops stay closed in Tehran bazaar after clashes

by on October 4, 2012 9:31 am BST
Thu Oct 4, 2012 5:31am EDT By Marcus George and Yeganeh TorbatiDUBAI Oct 4 (Reuters) - Shops in Tehran's Grand Bazaar stayed shut and police patrolled the area on Thursday as authorities struggled to restore normalcy a day after security forces clashed with anti-government demonstrators angered by the collapse of the currency.Several